“United” by Dream Evil

Artist: Dream Evil
Title: “United”
Label: Century Media Records
Release Date: 10/31/2006
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 4/5

Dream Evil is the type of band for those people who remember the sound of classic Heavy Metal in its purest form and with all the genres available nowadays it can be somewhat easy to forget at times. Yes, we still find that bands like Iron Maiden and Judas Priest are holding the banner of the music high but they are its forefathers and we cannot expect any less from them. In today’s Metal Realm, we find so few choosing to adventure down this road and instead they explore the darker side with Death and Black Metal forays. With “United”, we find the Swedish rockers giving us a worthwhile journey in the present with music that sounds just like the long revered past from the genres most classic years. This is energetic and fun Power Metal that makes you once again want to raise your fist into the air, drink beers with friends and scream the chorus sections out at the top of your lungs. This five-member group certainly does a good job on this release and there are anthems all across it that will remind you repeatedly about the exhilarating feeling one gets when good Metal is blasting out of the speakers. “Fire! Battle! In Metal!” lines it out for you with a call to arms that will have you on your feet. “United” pretty much states the way the cause is defined best and “Falling” is probably one of the best numbers on the whole album.

The group is comprised of Fredrik Nordstrum (guitars), Niklas Isfeldt (vocals), Peter Stalfors (bass), Pat Power (drums) and Mark Black (guitars) and “United” is their first recordings with the bands newest members. Original members Snowy Shaw and Gus G. had moved on in 2004/2005 respectively to focus on efforts with Firewind and Dreamland. For me as a listener I never get tired of this kind of Metal and seem to enjoy quality displays of it. Dream Evil might bore some by being so pure in the formula without any experimentation but I love it and find myself wishing more groups followed in this path than would do other aspects of the genre. This is Traditional in style of guitar and drums and loaded with tasty hooks and melodies that make for one solid effort when it all comes down to it. I think you will agree that this is a continually easy to listen to and enjoy type of release. The opening track has a great line that goes “I live for the Metal, I die for the Metal” and if that’s not a battle cry then I don’t know what is. Hails!

Note: The first pressings of this release will include a bonus CD that features five additional tracks which we have noted for reference.

Track Listing:
1. Fire! Battle! In Metal!
2. United
3. Blind Evil
4. Evilution
5. Let Me Out
6. Higher On Fire
7. Kingdom At War
8. Love Is Blind
9. Falling
10. Back From The Dead
11. Doomlord
12. My Number One
13. Calling Your Name – bonus CD
14. Dynamite – bonus CD
15. Into The Unknown – bonus CD
16. I Will Never – bonus CD
17. Vengeance – bonus CD

Official Website: http://www.dreamevil.se

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.