“Total Pwnage” (re-release) by Powerglove

Artist: Powerglove
Title: “Total Pwnage” (re-release)
Label: Independent Artist
Release Date: 9/2/2008
Genre: Video Game Metal
Rating: 4/5

It seems as though your Folk, Math, Oriental, and Neo-Classical Power Metal have a new ally joining their ranks with the arrival of Video Game Metal and this amusing new genre is served up by a band that calls themselves Powerglove. The bands demo is entitled “Total Pwnage” and its essentially a number of popular video game themes reworked into a Power Metal framework. The CD begins with the themes from Tetris which is oddly enough the only game that I have ever played that the band tinkers with and it’s very interesting to hear as it’s rather well-executed in terms of the musical compositions. The band is a four piece with twin lead guitarists Chris Marchiel and Alex Berkson and finds drumming delivered by Bassil Silver-Hajo. The bass on this demo is done with a session player listed only as Spalding. The production is rather sound for a demo recording which was a nice surprise since its shows that the band is interested in their music making a difference. The guys certainly can play which was a positive and one that might actually make this kind of thing an unexpected hit on a much larger scale. Outside of the themes from Tetris I enjoyed both the Power Rangers and Final Fantasy VII numbers and it’s the kind of recording that you will play a couple of times in sequence since it’s a lot of fun. I wish the band well with this newfangled sound and who knows – they might be on to something here.

It’s important to note that this review is for the 2008 re-issue of this demo CD which originally came out in 2005 and now features extra tracks and I’ve noted them in the listing. There’s no booklet but I didn’t expect one given this was a demo. I also didn’t expect the band to release this in a case that looks like a Playstation 2 game. It’s nice to see all those AOL CD mailers being put to some positive use. Since the time of this being released the band has recorded their first full length album “Metal Kombat For The Mortal Man” and both are available at their shows.

Track Listing:
1. Tetris (Themes B and C)
2. Tetris Mute City – F-Zero
3. Birth Of A God – Final Fantasy VII
4. The Decisive Battle – bonus
5. Power Rangers – bonus
6. Storm Eagle – bonus
7. Dr. Wily’s Theme – bonus

Official Website: http://www.vgmetal.com/

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.