“Thrashing Like A Maniac” by Various Artists

Artist: Various Artists
Title: “Thrashing Like A Maniac”
Label: Earache Records
Release Date: 2/5/2008
Genre: Thrash Metal
Rating: 3.75/5

During my own formative musical years I was fortunate enough to have the original titans of the Thrash Metal genre providing me with lessons and influence that would be carried on strong for a long time and looking back on it I had to say that it was great to be a fan of this stuff and watch the progression of Metallica, Anthrax, Slayer and Megadeth. The repertoire of these groups and several more like them are legendary and have not lost an ounce of their initial impact and with that being said, who shall pick up the ball and run with it into the next few decades? This rousing CD aims to answer that question as it offers up sixteen bands that are slowly building up their own names on the Metal geography and using the lessons taught by the past masters to do it properly. The adventure begins with a band that names themselves after a classic album by Exodus and does some justice with their “Immortal Life”. Lots of quick riffs and double bass drumming in this. Evile from the UK comes up next and these guys are stars in the making. I have been lucky to catch them in concert a few times and they do it up right. I found it interesting to hear the singer on this one sounding a little like classic Araya from Slayer. Municipal Waste are more of a cross over to the Hard core sound kind of band and if you are looking for the new champions of that sound then look no further than these guys.

The Fueled By Fire guys tease us with some Bach as their introduction before a righteous smiting gets delivered with their “Massive Execution”. I loved the drive of the tune by Decadence as it brought me right back into the Metal clubs of old. We get Warbringer’s “Total War” which comes from their self released EP and not their Century Media Records debut. Fans of Metal have seen a lot of Warbringer on the stage as they opened up for many bands over the last couple of years. Skipping around some more to Gama Bomb I felt that they are one that fans would enjoy a lot and the same for Toxic Holocaust as this offering is offering up a slightly Black Metal vibe to it with the vocals and riffing. Given there are sixteen tracks in total, I will leave a few of them up to your own investigation. Even with this being the case there is a lot to enjoy and this listen will be one that you play a few times. It’s the perfect CD to throw on during one of those Metal hangs. Most of the tracks are from around 2007 but there are a couple that reach back a couple of years earlier. The CD booklet included gives you a little information on the bands themselves and where they originate from. It’s not only an Earache Records display but also pays mind to some talent that resides on Metal Blade Records, Century Media Records and more. I felt this was a commendable presentation of some fine talent and believe me these bands have a lot to work toward given that many of the Thrash luminaries are still in action. If you are a fan of the Old School, its time to let the New School show you what they are all about. Trust me these bands have a lot to say so you better start listening.

Track Listing:
1. Bonded By Blood – Immortal Life
2. Evile – Thrasher
3. Municipal Waste – The Art Of Partying
4. Dekapitator – Deathstrike Command
5. Fueled By Fire – Massive Execution
6. Decadence – Corrosion
7. Warbringer – Total War
8. SSS – Overload
9. Gama Bomb – Zombi Brew
10. Merciless Death – Exumer
11. Deadfall – Resistance Is Futile
12. Lazarus – Last Breath
13. Toxic Holocaust – War Is Hell
14. Mutant – Psycho Therapy
15. Violator – Atomic Nightmare
16. Send More Paramedics – Twilight Of The Flies

Official Website: http://www.earache.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.