“Thrash Anthems” by Destruction

Artist: Destruction
Title: “Thrash Anthems”
Label: Candlelight Records
Release Date: 1/23/2007
Genre: Thrash Metal
Rating: 3.5/5

Destruction have been giving Metal fans a good Thrashing for over twenty years and now to celebrate their continuation of the process we have a greatest HITS release from them that offers up what the band is most adept at with some levels of difference. For this album, the band decided that instead of simply delivering a comprehensive compilation of their most revered anthems from the back catalog that they would go into the studio once again and re-record these numbers using the newest technology and engineering. The final product will remind the listener why this veteran group is perhaps one of the best in the business of inciting the circle pits in this music’s history. Yes, there are those who found Kreator to be the heavier of the masters from Germany, and there are others who would say that it was definitely Sodom who put the region on the map. Yet I have to assure you that as a band Destruction was exactly what the Thrash Metal genre was defined as (brutal, intense and steadfast in delivery).

The re-recording of these numbers gives them a long overdue upgrade as far as the production goes and with it, we find classics such as “Mad Butcher”, “Curse The Gods” and “Tormentor” sounding new and exciting once again. Some of the fans might balk at the idea of re-recording these numbers but they should know that there does not seem to be any overall modification to the songs. Instead, it is just a reminder of their beginnings that makes use of better technology for their benefit. They also present the fans with two new songs so combined with the classics they have music to hold them over until their next epic is unleashed. The new recordings both open and close this CD and show that the band has not yet lost any of their ability to crush your speakers. The new Destruction CD is planned for sometime in early 2008. The current membership roster of Destruction is Marcel “Schmier” Schirmer (vocals, bass), Mike Sifringer (guitars), and Marc Reign (drums).

Track Listing:
1. Deposition (Your Heads Will Roll)
2. Invincible Force
3. Release From Agony
4. Mad Butcher
5. Sign Of Fear
6. Death Trap
7. Life Without Sense
8. Total Desaster
9. Bestial Invasion
10. Reject Emotions
11. Tormentor
12. Unconscious Ruins
13. Curse The Gods
14. Cracked Brain
15. Profanity

Official Website: www.destruction.de

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.