“They Can’t All Be Zingers” by Primus

Artist: Primus
Title: “They Can’t All Be Zingers”
Label: Interscope Records
Release Date: 10/17/2006
Genre: Progressive Funk Rock
Rating: 4/5

I never claimed to be someone who “got” or even understood what Primus was all about, but despite this the level of technical prowess and musical drive was all too apparent to me even as a quasi-fan. This strange little combo of musicians formed by Les Claypool were a band that was given a chance by Interscope Records’ Tom Whalley and his creative vision allowed the band to create their style as they were pretty much let loose to do as they would on an unsuspecting music buying public. It was a group that was up against the likes of Guns ‘N Roses and all the Seattle stuff that was a brewing at the time and with releases like “Sailing The Seas Of Cheese” and “Pork Soda” you could tell that Claypool was doing it with tongue firmly in cheek. Lyrically, they were quite absurd but musically it was sheer brilliance as Claypool laid down riffs on the bass that the most seasoned of Progressive and Experimental players would only hope to do night after night. “They Cant All Be Zingers” is a perfect way to enjoy some of their best material if you were an existing fan and it is also a great manner to find yourself educated on this very unique brand of music if you are among the unaware. The CD features music from across all the bands releases and features the talented technical wizardry of Claypool, Larry LaLonde (guitar) and Tim Alexander (drums).

The tracks are all remastered for sonic clarity and there is bound to be more than a few tunes that intrigue you as the CD plays. Some additional drum parts of performed by Brian “Brain” Mantia as well and while no lyrics are included there are some great background notes on the group by Brian Fox. If you enjoy this the band has also released a DVD and has a collection of their videos on the release “Animals Should Not Try To Act Like People” which is worth looking into since the bands films are so out there. “To Defy The Laws Of Tradition”? That is indeed an understatement and I look forward to their continuing to do so.

Track Listing:
1. To Defy The Laws Of Tradition
2. John The Fisherman
3. Too Many Puppies
4. Jerry Was A Race Car Driver
5. Those Damned Blue-Collar Tweekers
6. Tommy The Cat
7. My Name Is Mud
8. Mr. Krinkle
9. DMV
10. Over The Electric Grapevine
11. Wynona’s Big Brown Beaver
12. Southbound Pachyderm
13. Over The Falls
14. Shake Hands With Beef
15. Coattails Of A Dead Man
16. Mary The Ice Cube

Official Website: www.primussucks.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.