The 2021 Harvey Awards Announce Winners @ New York Comic Con

the harvey awards logo

The Press Release:
The Harvey Awards today revealed the winners and recipients of this year’s awards in the following categories: Book of the Year, Digital Book of the Year, Best Children or Young Adult Book, Best Adaptation from Comic Book/Graphic Novel, Best Manga, and Best International Book. The winners of the 2021 Harvey Awards are:

Book of the Year: THE MAGIC FISH by Trung Le Nguyen

Digital Book of the Year: LORE OLYMPUS by Rachel Smythe

Best Children or Young Adult Book: THE MAGIC FISH by Trung Le Nguyen

Best Manga: CHAINSAW MAN by Tatsuki Fujimoto

Best International Book: MOMS by Yeong-shin Ma (translated by Janet Hong)

Best Adaptation from Comic Book/Graphic Novel: WANDAVISION by Disney+

“Each year, the Harveys afford creators the opportunity to be recognized by their peers for their tremendous contributions to the comic book industry,” said Chris D’Lando, Harvey Awards Coordinator and ReedPop Content Manager. “On behalf of the Kurtzman family and of our team involved in the awards, I would like to congratulate all the winners for this year’s Harvey Awards.”

In addition to revealing the award winners, this year’s Harvey Awards inducted Rumiko Takahashi, Bernie Wrightson, Jeffrey Catherine Jones, Barry Windsor-Smith, and Michael Kaluta into the Hall of Fame for their respective storied careers.

The Harvey Awards ceremony will be presented as a virtual screening this evening as part of New York Comic Con.

The Harvey Awards honors books and creators working in sequential art across a variety of categories and represents one of the industry’s longest-running annual events. The awards are named after Harvey Kurtzman, the legendary creator who is best remembered for creating MAD.

Nominees for this year’s awards were once again selected by a committee of diverse industry voices including creators, publishing professionals, retailers, educators, and librarians. The Harvey Awards Steering Committee is co-chaired by Nellie Kurtzman, John Lind, and Chip Mosher. Chris D’Lando and Camilla Di Persia of ReedPop and Eden Miller are coordinating this year’s awards. For more information about Harvey Kurtzman and the Harvey Awards, please visit or the Harvey Awards social media pages (Facebook and Twitter).

New York Comic Con, the ultimate pop culture destination event in the United States, will take place on October 7-10, 2021 at the Javits Center in NYC. NYCC brings the best of comics, television, film, exhibitors, celebrities, cosplay, anime, and more to create memorable, uniquely exciting experiences for fans. These experiences transcend beyond the walls of the Javits Center and continue to live beyond the weekend of NYCC through the online world of New York Comic Con’s Metaverse.

About Harvey Kurtzman and the Harvey Awards:
Harvey Kurtzman (1924–1993), creator of MAD, was a cartoonist and pop culture icon. Among the most influential American satirists, he was known for his visionary abilities that encompassed author, artist, designer, and editor, and combined those skills in some capacity in almost every project he was involved in. The Harvey Awards, presented annually since 1988, are named in his honor and aim to recognize the achievements among creators and their books in the publishing industry.

About ReedPop:
ReedPop is a boutique group within Reed Exhibitions – one of the world’s leading events organizers. Launched in 2006, the group has become the number one producer of pop culture events across the globe as well as a full service digital content provider and media company. Delivering once-in-a-lifetime fan experiences curated specifically for localized audiences, ReedPop currently features events in North America and Europe, including: New York Comic Con (NYCC), Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo (C2E2), PAX West, East, South, and Unplugged, Emerald City Comic Con (ECCC), Star Wars Celebration, MCM Comic Con, Eurogamer Expo (EGX), Minecraft Festival, ComplexCon and more. In addition to organizing and managing events, ReedPop also runs and operates the Gamer Network and its portfolio of leading gaming websites including Eurogamer, Rock Paper Shotgun and GamesIndustry.Biz. The staff at ReedPop are a fan-based, globally focused group of professionals that are uniquely qualified to build and serve the communities with whom they share a common passion.

*** end of transmission ***

PiercingMetal Thoughts: So there you have it my friends, the winners of this years Harvey Awards. Since I copied the full on press release about the winners circle, they didn’t line out the original list of nominations so if you felt like reviewing what didn’t win just click HERE to launch the post we did for that news back in July. I chuckle when I say that it feels like a lifetime ago since this was announced but it really is only about five months. Truth be told, outside of the “WandaVision” win, I don’t know too much about the winners but this particular awards does a deep dive into the medium which is why I love adding it to the run of narratives when we attend the New York Comic Con. If you have the extra scratch I’d say investigate them or see if the fine folks from ComiXology have them for a reasonable price. Coming up next will be the continued posts and photos from this year’s New York Comic Con. I hope you are enjoying what we have posted so far as we are having a lot of fun exploring the aisles and meeting some truly talented people. See you next time.


reedpop logo, reedpop
new york comic con logo - bw

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.