Tag Archives: arthur brown

YES Announces Multi-Act “The Royal Affair Tour” In North America

yes logo

I think the saying is to go big or don’t bother going at all, and well, this latest tour announcement is probably going to win the 2019 “Go Big” Award. Take a look at the summer plans by Yes, Asia, John Lodge and Carl Palmer – “The Royal Affair Tour”.

tour posters, yes, yes tour posters

The Press Release:
The 2019 summer concert calendar has just been lit up with the announcement of YES’ North American concert tour, “The Royal Affair Tour.” Headlined by prog rock pioneers and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees YES, who triumphed last year with their acclaimed and hugely successful #YES50: Celebrating 50 Years of YES tour, this must-see best-of-British-rock show will also feature Asia with the return of founding member Steve Howe in a special performance, John Lodge of The Moody Blues, and Carl Palmer’s ELP Legacy with guest vocals by Arthur Brown. View the trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkN5R1Gh7Po

The first set of dates for “The Royal Affair Tour” has been announced. The trek will launch Wednesday, June 12 in Bethlehem, PA and visit cities including Holmdel, NJ; Toronto; Nashville; Hollywood, FL; Phoenix; Las Vegas; and Irvine, CA before wrapping Sunday, July 28 in Saratoga, CA. Most shows go on sale Friday, April 5. More dates will be revealed in the coming weeks. See below for full list of tour dates and go to www.yesworld.com/live for ticketing information.

YES is Steve Howe (guitar — joined 1970), Alan White (drums since 1972), Geoff Downes (keyboards; first joined in 1980), Jon Davison (vocals since 2011) and Billy Sherwood (guitar/keyboards in the 1990s and the late Chris Squire’s choice to take over bass/vocals in 2015), with Jay Schellen on additional drums. See quotes below from YES.
Continue reading YES Announces Multi-Act “The Royal Affair Tour” In North America

The Crazy World Of Arthur Brown @ Le Poisson Rouge (2/23/2017)

A rare appearance by one of the pioneers of theatrical rock in the 60’s. Known as “The God of Hellfire”, Arthur Brown had a hit with the song “Fire” in 1968. The show opened up with Electric Citizen, who put on a great set of Sabbath-esqe riff rockers. Front woman Laura Dolan prowled the stage and kept the band visually entertaining while belting out powerful vocals. Ross Dolan (guitar), Randy Proctor (bass), Nate Wagner (drums) kept the engine running with chugging power ‘70s style psychedelic rock, with solid rhythms, and ripping solos. Arthur Brown took the stage and gave the sold-out audience a powerful, and energetic performance. At 74 years old, Brown has more energy and stage presence than people a third his age.

Brown is a consummate showman, which is no surprise considering he is one of the pioneers of theatrical, performance art-rock. Backed by a solid band with a tight groove, wearing psychedelic face paint, Arthur energetically dominated the stage. His presence was powerful and captivating, yet he connected with the audience on a personal and emotional level. Arthur’s vocals are incredibly strong, and his range is impressive. His vocals varied from growls, spoken word, to falsetto, and settling in with a soulful baritone. The set was a blend of recent material, and included the classic songs like “Fire” and a cover of Screamin’ Jay Hawkins’ “I Put A Spell on You”.

Always engaged with the audience Brown took us on a grand journey of psychedelic rock and showmanship. Utilizing multiple costume changes to enhance the mood, and create even more visual grandeur.

At the end of the show, Arthur never left the stage, he stayed shaking hands, signing all sorts of memorabilia, and taking photos with his fans. This went on for a good half hour before a security guy made him leave the stage with the excuse that he was going to change into something more comfortable. All I could think was he couldn’t change into anything more comfortable, than where he is right now. Interacting with his appreciative fans, which seemed to energize him and kept a genuine smile on his face. Classiest thing I have ever seen.

Set List:
1. Zim Zam Zim
2. Prelude / Nightmare
3. Want to Love
4. The Unknown
5. Gypsy Escape
6. I Put a Spell on You (Screamin’ Jay Hawkins cover)
7. Rest Cure
8. Kites (Simon Dupree & The Big Sound cover)
9. Sunrise (Arthur Brown’s Kingdom Come cover)
10. The Tell-Tale Heart (The Alan Parsons Project cover)
11. Touched by All
12. Devil’s Grip
13. Muscle of Love
14. Fanfare / Fire Poem
15. Fire
16. Junkyard King
17. Jungle Fever

Official Website: http://www.arthur-brown.com/

The Crazy World Of Arthur Brown Announces First Tour Since 1969

Did you ever think that in your wildest musical dreams that you would be reading a tour announcement about the Crazy World Of Arthur Brown? I know that I didn’t and I also didn’t receive any sort of proper press release about this tour so I assembled the bits and pieces that I found on the web. From these I did snag the dates and tour poster for your edification. When you consider that this performer has not been here in something like 47 years, it bears some proclamation. The tour is being labeled as the “Zim Zam Zim” tour which is an album that came out in 2014 and the shows are also being done in celebration of the 50th anniversary of their debut single “Devil’s Grip”. I should admit now that I only knew a sparse amount of material from the man but I do know that he was quintessential in the early Progressive Rock, Space Rock and Psychedelic Rock forms. I also know that Carl Palmer from the legendary ELP was once a member of his band. Check out the poster and the select tour dates below.

Continue reading The Crazy World Of Arthur Brown Announces First Tour Since 1969