“See You On The Other Side” by Korn

Artist: Korn
Title: “See You On The Other Side”
Label: EMI Music/Virgin Records
Release Date: 12/6/2005
Genre: Nu-Metal
Rating: 7/10

The new Korn release “See You On The Other Side” is an interesting journey into their dark aspect of Heavy Rock. Often labeled “nu-metal”, I admit that I never thought this of them at all. Korn was always a band that pressed the buttons and pushed the envelope into a different direction from the bands that were truly Nu Metal. The result of their experiments gave Korn a unique mix of some Funk and often Industrial feels as well as a healthy dose of traditional Metal. Their new album would also find them minus one member as their previous guitarist Head decided to leave and pursue religion. Given Korn is not some extreme Black or Death Metal group I felt he could have remained and still made music. Despite the loss of a member the band did not slow down their pace and still deliver a solid album. I admit that I never really followed them but I was able to enjoy “Throw Me Away”, “Twisted Transistor” and “Souvenir”. “Love Song” was also a good one but I liked that more in the concert setting (I had just gotten to see their show). Jonathan Davis has a unique voice and it adds a large sense of mood to their already dramatic levels of music. This album in particular has a lot of Funk feel to it and is not as heavy as some of the earlier material I had heard. The musical prowess of Fieldy (bass), David (drums) and Munky (guitars) works very well across the album. Davis also provides some bagpipes which adds an interesting twist on the bands sound.

I think their following will still enjoy this album but I will admit that I did not find this release as angry as some of their music has struck me as being in the past. I know the large level of appeal of Korn is also in the audience ability to vent their pains and frustrations to this music. This one will make them think a little more and sparking this aspect in ones listeners never hurts a band. There was also enough music on the album that made the new listener that I was enjoy himself. It is a dark record in premise and has a certain doomy feel at a lot of points. The included booklet is only 8 pages and while it does not include any lyrics it does feature some great artwork by David Stoupakis, he has a very Todd McFarlane style which I think a lot of people will like. Given this album is not as in your face as some past Korn has been this is a perfect jumping on point for a casual listener.

Track Listing:
1. Twisted Transistor
2. Politics
3. Hypocrites
4. Souvenir
5. 10 or a 2-way
6. Throw Me Away
7. Love Song
8. Open Up
9. Coming Undone
10. Getting Off
11. Liar
12. For No One
13. Seen It All
14. Tearjerker

Official Web site: www.korn.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.