Scorpions Set The Turntable Needles To “Sting” With 3 Classic Vinyl Reissues

The legendary rockers in Scorpions are raising the decibels higher and higher in honor of their 50th Anniversary and in addition to the continued touring, videos and special edition CD releases have decided to treat their fans with three brand new vinyl editions of some must have recordings. Below you’ll find all the press copy and then I’ll offer up my thoughts on it all.

Logo - Scorpions

The Press Release:
1982’s Blackout, 1984’s Love at First Sting and 1985’s double-LP World Wide Live to be re-released on remastered 180-gram vinyl to mark milestone occasion. Legendary German heavy metal band Scorpions were formed in 1965 by founding member Rudolf Schenker in Hanover, and along with longtime vocalist Klaus Meine and guitarist Matthias Jabs, have forged one of the most remarkable careers in rock ‘n’ roll history. Earlier this year the band released their brand-new album Return to Forever, and now Universal Music Enterprises is reissuing three of the group’s classic albums – 1982’s Blackout, 1984’s Love at First Sting and 1985’s double-LP World Wide Live – on remastered, high-grade, 180-gram vinyl on December 4, 2015.

The band Rolling Stone once dubbed “The Heroes of Heavy Metal” achieved their biggest commercial successes with these three albums, which is saying something in a career that has seen them sell millions of records worldwide, with six of their singles going No. 1 in different countries around the world. The band has achieved several major honors, including a star on the Hollywood Rock Walk and a World Music Rock Legend Award, among many accolades.

LP - Scorpions - Blackout

BLACKOUT: Blackout is the eighth Scorpions studio album, but first breakout success, released in 1982, with its famous cover featuring a bandaged self-portrait of artist Gottfried Helnwein, a character portrayed by Rudolf Schenker in the music video for “No One Like You” and an indelible T-shirt image for Scorpions fans around the world. Produced by frequent collaborator Dieter Dierks, the album was certified platinum in 1984, having peaked at No. 10 on the Billboard 200, while going No. 1 in France, No. 11 in the U.K. and Top 10 in Germany. Vocalist Klaus Meine underwent surgery on his vocal cords right before recording was to begin, and demos were recorded by Don Dokken, though none of those appeared on the final album. The first single, “No One Like You,” went to No. 1 on Billboard’s Mainstream Rock chart and No. 65 on The Billboard Hot 100. AllMusic called it “the band’s best record ever… it has more energy than anything else they have ever released.”

A1. Blackout
A2. Can’t Live Without You
A3. No One Like You
A4. You Give Me All I Need
A5. Now!
B1. Dynamite
B2. Arizona
B3. China White
B4. When The Smoke Is Going Down

LP - Scorpions - Love At First Sting

LOVE AT FIRST STING: Love at First Sting, the follow-up to Blackout, was released in 1984, making history as one of the first digitally recorded hard rock records. The album was the group’s most successful ever in the U.S., peaking at No. 6 on The Billboard 200 and reaching triple-platinum status in 1995, thanks to the metal anthem, “Rock You Like a Hurricane,” which went to No. 25 on The Billboard Hot 100, with “Still Loving You” going to No. 64 in the States, No. 14 in Germany and No. 3 in France. The album went to No. 4 in France, No. 6 in Germany, No. 9 in Switzerland, No. 17 in the U.K. and Sweden and No 19 in Austria. Also included are the tracks “Coming Home,” “Big City Nights” and “Still Loving You.”

A1. Bad Boys Running Wild
A2. Rock You Like A Hurricane
A3. I’m Leaving You
A4. Coming Home
A5. The Same Thrill
B1. Big City Nights
B2. As Soon As the Good Times Roll
B3. Crossfire
B4. Still Loving You

WORLD WIDE LIVE: World Wide Live, reissued as a double-LP, first came out in 1985 and documented several stops on the band’s world tour, including shows at the Sports Arena in San Diego, the Forum in Los Angeles, Pacific Amphitheatre in Costa Mesa, CA, Bercy in Paris and Sporthalle in Cologne, West Germany. And while the original release boasted 15 tracks, this two-record set features all 19 tracks, including “Another Piece of Meat,” “Six-String Sting” and “Can’t Get Enough” parts 1 and 2. The album peaked at No. 17 on The Billboard 200, and went to No. 4 in Germany and Austria and hit the Top 10 in Sweden, earning platinum in the States and Canada, and going gold in both Germany and France. Allmusic called it the band’s best live album and a “must for their fans.” Rolling Stone praised World Wide Live as “four solid sides of adrenaline-injected metal.”

A1. Countdown
A2. Coming Home
A3. Blackout
A4. Bad Boys Running Wild
A5. Loving You Sunday Morning
A6. Make It Real
B1. Big City Nights
B2. Coast to Coast
B3. Holiday
B4. Still Loving You
C1. Rock You Like a Hurricane
C2. Can’t Live Without You
C3. Another Piece of Meat
C4. Dynamite
D1. The Zoo
D2. No One Like You
D3. Can’t Get Enough (Part I)
D4. Six String Sting
D5. Can’t Get Enough (Part II)

*** end of Press Release ***

PiercingMetal Thoughts: While Scorpions have long been one of my very favorite of the Heavy Metal bands of all time, I did not get into them as early as some of my friends did. I knew a couple of songs off of “Animal Magnetism” such as the iconic track “The Zoo” but that would be it until I first heard “Blackout” and the thunderous “No One Like You”. I remembered that I had to play that track in one of my bands and no one could sing like Klaus but we all enjoyed the chance to howl into the studio microphones. Guessing the dudes at the front desk hated that but such is life when you work in rehearsal spaces. Lots of favorites were on this now thirty plus year old release but it was only a sample when compared to the blockbuster that came with “Love At First Sting”. That album brought us all together since radio rock was at an all-time high and thanks to this one we made “Rock You Like A Hurricane” a Metal anthem, found ourselves “Coming Home” to “Big City Nights” and sang to your loved ones the ultimate ballad of “Still Loving You”. That song remains one of my very favorite of the Metal ballads ever and it moves me. The live album of “World Wide Live” was captured during the “Sting” tour but of course features songs from “Blackout” and earlier for good measure. A powerful live album and if you have a turntable at your command and have started building up a new vinyl library then you want to add these three classics to your collection. Now who feels like a little Scorpions and chill hehehe.

Official Website:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.