“Rebel Meets Rebel” by Rebel Meets Rebel

Artist: Rebel Meets Rebel
Title: “Rebel Meets Rebel”
Label: Big Vin Records
Release Date: 5/2/2006
Genre: Country Metal
Rating: 8/10

Rebel Meets Rebel was a unique collaboration between Country legend David Allan Coe and both Dimebag Darrell and his Brother Vinny Paul from Pantera/Damageplan. The fun project would be an interesting blend of Country Music and Heavy Metal thunder that fans of the musicians will most likely enjoy. It’s an album that one needs to approach with an open mind as the blending of Country and Metal is not something we see done often. The last instance that I knew of was with Iron Horse, the band that featured former Metal screamer Ron Keel. The effort proved that it could work when done properly and given the level of talent that the members of this group possessed and their creative edge it was bound to be able to do the same. The recording of the album clearly shows that the members were having a blast doing it and some of the songs totally rock when it comes down to it. Best examples of this are during “Get Outta My Life” and “Cherokee Cry” and despite the normal level of a Country singers voice, Coe does well by trying to raise his volume up a little more like we hear in music like Molly Hatchet. My favorite track on the album is the most Metallized track “No Compromise” and as you listen to a lot of the riffing you can see that it’s not a far cry from the playing Dime was doing during his career in Metal. With Rebel Meets Rebel it just gets a different wrapping. There are some comments from both Vinny Paul about the recording and some by Coe and each state that Dime loved doing this project. Had he not been killed this might have very well seen some performances during breaks in the touring schedule.

I liked the album because not only is it nice to have more contributions from Dime, but because it shows you a little more of the fun side that he had to him. This fact is why Vinny made sure to get this released for the fans. It also extends the knowledge of the guitar creativity that he had going for him and is a sad reminder of how tragically he was taken from us; there was surely a lot more music to come that we will never experience now. I am pretty sure all of his fans and supporters will want this to complete his recorded works and to better memorialize him. Bass guitar is handled Rex Mason while keyboards and fiddle are provided by Rex Mauney and Joe Floyd. The use of these instruments truly adds the stronger Country feel to the album that I think is a lot of fun when it all comes to a close. Another way to look at it is as a different version of Pantera without Anselmo singing. Get some brews and enjoy yourself – they did.

Track List:
1. Nothin’ To Lose
2. Rebel Meets Rebel
3. Cowboys Do More Dope
4. Panfilo
5. Heart Worn Highway
6. One Night Stands
7. Arizona Rivers
8. Get Outta My Life
9. Cherokee Cry
10. Time
11. No Compromise
12. N.Y.C. Streets

Offical Website: www.rebelmeetsrebel.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.