“Razorblade Romance” by H.I.M.

Artist: H.I.M.
Title: “Razorblade Romance”
Label: Universal Records
Release Date: 5/20/2003
Genre: Gothic Hard Rock
Rating: 8/10

For a little over a year now I have been hearing many good things about the group known as H.I.M. After listening to Razorblade Romance a couple of times I can agree upon the praise. H.I.M., which stands for His Infernal Majesty have referred to their music as ‘Love Metal’. This acclaim is duly given as I am enjoying this CD immensely. New bands tend to grow on me after a few listens. This was not to be the case with this while this one took no time at all. I feel the music of H.I.M. owes more to the likes of Billy Idol and Depeche Mode than to some of the heavy metal bands that might have led to their forming.

The disk starts off with the rousing “Your Sweet 666”. It’s a catchy number that brings you quickly into the world of H.I.M. “Poison Girl” and then “Join Me (In Death)” which is a personal favorite of mine follow it. “Join Me” also has a very stylish video which can be viewed at www.Launch.com so that is a recommendation of mine. A number that surprised me most was the cover of Chris Isaak’s “Wicked Game”. I got a kick out of this one since I love the tune already. Hearing it from a little more metal side was interesting.

There are some slow numbers such as “Gone With The Sin” and “Bury Me Deep Inside Your Heart”. The number “I Love You Prelude To Tragedy” to me combined Billy Idol and Peter Steele vocals which made it for an interesting tune.
Numbers that did not intrigue me all that much were “Heaven Tonight” and “One Last Time”. They are decent numbers, but just did not do it for me. I find the production on this CD excellent, and every song is accessible enough to merit a few listens. This review is of the import release that includes a couple of bonus tracks. Ville Vallo is a presence that draws the audience into his world of somber lovelorn laden tunes. Joining Ville in the group is Burton, Gas, Linde and Mille on guitars, bass and drums.

The group has recently announced some New York tour dates so I will be trying to attend in order to bring the details to you readers. Also I wanted to bring up that this group is very popular among female fans so guys might want to look into it.

Track Listing:
1. Your Sweet 666
2. Poison Girl
3. Join Me In Death
4. Right Here In My Arms
5. Bury Me Deep Inside Your Heart
6. Wicked Game
7. I Love You (Prelude To Death)
8. Gone With The Sin
9. Razorblade Kiss
10. Resurrection
11. Death Is In Love With Us
12. Heaven Tonight
13. Sigillum Diaboli
14. One Last Time

Official Website: www.heartagram.com

Editor’s Note: This article was written for another medium prior to the 2005 launch of PiercingMetal.com and has been added to our content for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.