Presenting The 2020 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards Nominees

ringo awards logo, mike wieringo comic book industry awards logo

Based on the number of years we’ve been supporting the comic book industry with either collecting the issues that hit the racks each and every week or attending the conventions like the New York Comic Con, Big Apple Comic Con and the rest, its pretty safe to say that this industry is of great importance to us. Last year, I began to showcase the nominees and winners circle for the Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Award and before we get to this years nominees let me remind the readership about what they are in the first place.

About The Awards: The Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards is an annual celebration of the creativity, skill and fun of comics. The nomination ballot is determined by fans and pros alike.

And now without any further adieu, the 2020 Ringo Awards Nominees are…

Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist)
Sarah Andersen
Eleanor Davis
Jaime Hernandez
Kevin Huizenga
Stan Sakai
Raina Telgemeier
David Jesus Vignolli

Best Writer
Drew Edwards
Jeff Lemire
Mark Russell
Erica Schultz
Mariko Tamaki

Best Artist or Penciller
Chris Campana
Colleen Doran
Sanford Greene
Rosemarie Valero-O’Connell
Marianna Pescosta

Best Inker
Keith Champagne
Marika Cresta
Sandra Hope
Maria Llovet
Dan Mora
Hyeondo Park

Best Letterer
Deron Bennett
Jim Campbell
Clayton Cowles
Jared K. Fletcher
Nate Piekos
Cardinal Rae

Best Colorist
Jordie Bellaire
Alessandro de Fornasari
Edson Ferreira
Laura Martin
Dave Stewart

Best Cover Artist
Fabio Alves
Natasha Alterici
Stephanie Hans
Sana Takeda
Christian Ward

Best Series
Banjax, Danger Zone (Action Lab Entertainment)
Bitter Root, Image Comics
Black Hammer: Age of Doom, Dark Horse Comics
Forgotten Home, Vices Press/comiXology Originals
Something is Killing the Children, BOOM! Studios

Best Single Issue or Story
Bitter Root Red Summer Special, Image Comics
“Hot Comb” in Hot Comb, Drawn & Quarterly
Second Coming #1, AHOY Comics
Spencer & Locke 2 #1, Danger Zone (Action Lab Entertainment)
Tales of the Night Watchman: The Steam Banshee, So What? Press
Usagi Yojimbo #6, IDW Publishing

Best Original Graphic Novel
The Adventures of Parker Reef – To Save a Soul, Chris Campana
BTTM FDRS, Fantagraphics
Dog Man: For Whom the Ball Rolls, Graphix/Scholastic
The Hard Tomorrow, Drawn & Quarterly
Hot Comb, Drawn & Quarterly
New World, BOOM! Studios
Penny Nichols, Top Shelf Productions (IDW Publishing)
Simon Says, Image Comics
Snow, Glass, Apples, Dark Horse Comics

Best Anthology
Dead Beats, A Wave Blue World
Drawing Power, Abrams ComicArts
Jim Henson’s The Storyteller: Sirens, Archaia (BOOM! Studios)
Strange Tails, Vices Press
Thought Bubble 2019, Image Comics

Best Humor Comic
Fangs, Tapas
The Handbook to Lazy Parenting, Drawn & Quarterly
Rick & Morty vs. Dungeons & Dragons, IDW Publishing
Superman’s Pal Jimmy Olsen, DC Comics
Twiztid: Haunted High-Ons, Source Point Press
Wonder Twins, DC Comics

Best Comic Strip or Panel
The Middle Age, Steve Conley, Andrews McMeel Universal
Nancy, Olivia Jaimes, Andrews McMeel Universal
The Nib Editorial Cartoons by Pia Guerra,
Rhymes With Orange, Hilary Price, King Features Syndicate
Sarah’s Scribbles, Sarah Andersen, Andrews McMeel Universal
Wawawiwa, Andres J. Colmenares

Best Webcomic
The Croaking, echorise (
Lore Olympus, Rachel Smythe (
Fried Rice, Erica Eng (
Penny Arcade, Mike Krahulik and Jerry Holkins, (
Rocío Diestra, Rocío Diestra (
Stand Still, Stay Silent, Minna Sundberg (
SubZero, Junepurr (

Best Non-fiction Comic Work
Coin-Op Carnival,
Grass, Drawn & Quarterly
In Waves, Nobrow/Flying Eye Books
They Called Us Enemy, Top Shelf (IDW Publishing)
The Twilight Man, Humanoids

Best Kids Comic or Graphic Novel
Dog Man: For Whom the Ball Rolls, Graphix/Scholastic
Guts, Graphix/Scholastic
New Kid, Harper Collins
Science! The Elements of Dark Energy, Bedside Press
The Underfoot: The Mighty Deep, Lion Forge (Oni Press)

Best Presentation in Design
Going to the Chapel, Danger Zone (Action Lab Entertainment)
Making Comics, Drawn & Quarterly
Marvel Masterwork Pin-Ups, Yoe Books (IDW Publishing)
Moomin: The Deluxe Lars Jansson Edition, Drawn & Quarterly
New World, BOOM! Studios
Snow White Zombie Apocalypse, Scout Comics
Stan Sakai’s Usagi Yojimbo: The Complete Grasscutter Artist Select, IDW Publishing
3D Sweeties, Fantagraphics

Vote HERE Until September 23rd if you are a Comic Book Community professional.

*** end of list ***

PiercingMetal Thoughts: Whew, that is some kinda list of talent but I don’t know a whole lot of the creators or titles being lauded in this years nominees based on what I am regularly purchasing. It looks like I have to do some research over on a service like ComiXology or just by Google searching. What do you think about these nominees? Are you following any of the creators listed or their respective works? Chime in down below in the comments section as all on topic submissions will be put through immediately. I’ll return to this discussion when the winners get announced in late October. Now back to the everything else so please continue to stay safe out there by following your regions directives to prevent the virus. See you again soon.

Official Website:

One thought on “Presenting The 2020 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards Nominees”

  1. There are some very impressive talents represented here. Congratulations to Dave Stewart, Jordie Bellaire, Jeff Lemire, Mariko Tamaki, Laura Martin, Dan Mora, Pia Guerra, Minna Sundberg. And all great work coming from my colleagues and friends at DC Comics, IDW, Dark Horse Comics, Image and Humanoids. Continuing bringing relevant, creative ideas to the world.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.