“Orgasmatron” (Deluxe Edition) by Motorhead

Artist: Motorhead
Title: “Orgasmatron” (Deluxe Edition)
Label: Sanctuary Records
Release Date: 11/16/2010
Genre: Hard Rock/Heavy Metal
Rating: 4/5

In 2006, Sanctuary Records was celebrating the 30th Anniversary of the band Motorhead by re-issuing and remastering their back catalog. The double CD sets come with the original album in a sonically upgraded form and a second CD that is loaded with bonus and unreleased tracks. When these editions first came out in 2006 they featured a slipcase cardboard sleeve while a later re-issue found a massive double foldout packaging with a clear sleeve keeping it in place. In 2010 we again get a double CD in a single CD casing, and the branding of Deluxe Edition is a raised imprint on the actual case and not a sleeve. They each include booklets that offer up topical information on the release as well as photos that are relevant to the timing of the particular album. While I am not sure about the reasoning in doing a re-issue for the third time I will admit that it is nice to have such a sleek edition on the shelves. My views of the remaster remain the same and are presented for you below.

“Orgasmatron” would find the band in a bit of a bind. Their last effort “Another Perfect Day” was not very well-received and would find the position of guitarist that was held by Brian Robertson being filled by two players this time around. Filling the shoes of the former Thin Lizzy player would be Phil Campbell and Wurzel. Lemmy stated at the time that since we could not decide between one or the other both were selected for the job. The band would return to a more established format of their songs which you can find on songs like “Doctor Rock”, “Mean Machine” and “Built For Speed”. Using the elements that led to their earlier success seemed to work again with the fans that preferred the classic sound more than anything else. Motorhead was Hard Rock and Roll at its primal best without a doubt. Other highlights from this release would be “Orgasmatron”, the title track that rumbled along in similar fashion to songs like “Killed By Death”. The 1986 release would not come without some turmoil as after an appearance on the Britcom hit “Young Ones”, the band would lose Phil Taylor on drums. He would be replaced by Pete Gill from Saxon.

Bonus CD: On The Road, Steal Your Face, Claw (alt ver), Kerrang Wooargh Weekender: Stay Clean, Heart Of Stone, Nothing Up My Sleeve, Metropolis, Killed By Death, Ace Of Spades, Steal Your Face, We Are The Road Crew, Motorhead, Bomber, Overkill.
*** The bonus CD on this release has another concert making this edition worth picking up. So far the entire collection of them has been worthy of placement in ones CD catalog. For me this particular show had a lot of the songs that I like to hear in concert.

Track Listing:
1. Deaf Forever
2. Nothing Up My Sleeve
3. Ain’t My Crime
4. Claw
5. Mean Machine
6. Built For Speed
7. Ridin’ With The Driver
8. Doctor Rock
9. Orgasmatron

Official Website: http://www.iMotorhead.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.