“Organic Hallucinosis” by Decapitated

Artist: Decapitated
Title: “Organic Hallucinosis”
Label: Earache Records
Release Date: 2/7/2006
Genre: Death Metal
Rating: 4/5

Decapitated is probably one of the best purveyors of the Technical Death Metal bands around these days and it shows very well on their newest album “Organic Hallucinosis”. The band’s raised their personal bar of musical acumen with this one especially in the way the drums and guitar riffs are laid down. It’s done in such a fashion that one might assume that fans of Fear Factory will find quite a bit of their influence on this release – there is a strong industrial meets technical metal vibe that is happening on all the songs. Vocally there are some reminders of Behemoth but that is where the comparison ends. The membership roster finds Vogg (guitars), Covan (vocals), Martini (bass) and Vitek (drums) putting their all into it. The bands oldest fans might miss Sauron (vocals who left in 2005) a little bit but this is too good a release to hang on to that sort of thing. Songs like “Revelation Of Existence” and “Day 69” stuck out the most for me based on the displays of musical ability performed. Bands like Decapitated help to change the way this kind of music is accepted and make it more acceptable to greater audiences this way. This edition is a limited edition dual disc which makes it all the more appealing for the bands fans. Side one is the audio, but side two is a full concert DVD that brings a performance from B.B. King Blues Club (New York City) right into your living room. Songs featured on the DVD are as follows: three Dimensional Defect, The Fury, Nihility, Negation, Lying And Weak, Spheres Of Madness and Mother War. Filmed at one of the bands support appearances, the 35 minute set from 7-11-2005 captures the band at the best and onstage in front of an intense crowd.

The only downside is that this is just over thirty minutes in length and that comes across as very disappointing. The album ends just as you were deeply into it. A lyrically loaded booklet is there to read and this inclusion of the DVD makes this a must have release for fans of this brand of Metal, so check it out. It might be on the short side but it is no way near a letdown.

Track Listing:
1. A Poem About An Old Prison Man
2. Day 69
3. Revelation Of Existence (the trip)
4. Post(?)Organic
5. Visual Delusion
6. Flash-B(l)ack
7. Invisible Control

Official Web site: www.decapitatedband.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.