“OCC Rocks” by Various Artists

Artist: Various Artists
Title: “OCC Rocks”
Label: Red Distribution
Release Date: 10/26/2009
Genre: Rock
Rating: 3.75/5

I’ve always loved the idea of chopper motorcycles and their inherent coolness factor and yet while I have only been on a motorcycle once in my life, I can still easily understand how a show about building them has found so much popularity. We are of course talking about The Discovery Channel’s program “American Chopper” and the premise is not only about building motorcycles and the family business so to speak but deep inside we learn regularly how hard work, creativity and mechanical knowledge can work hand in hand with extraordinary results. That factor alone should serve as nothing less than inspiring to many groups of people who have passions and pursuits of their own. The CD “OCC Rocks” or “Orange County Choppers Rocks” is a compilation release that finds hand-picked Classic Rock and Southern Rock greats which are all favorites of the shows leading man Paul Teutul Sr. It’s a collection of tunes that are nothing less than “driving material” for those that already own bikes, but in all honesty can be properly used for freeway car adventuring as well and even for someone who is a runner that needs music that can keep a solid pace from beginning to end with them. The CD features not only some of the greatest Rock tunes in history but also showcases the OCC Band on three tracks. This is a group that is made up of the members of the OCC Company itself. Let’s talk about the venerated greats first because there’s really some smoking tunes brought to light once again and that is a very good thing.

Given the fact that these are personal picks made by Paul Sr. one cannot really find fault in them since it is a matter of choice when it comes to ones favorite tunes. I had to admit that I loved many of these songs over the years myself and it’s without question that the Mountain and Eddie Money offerings are probably the most known tunes from those performers catalog and while I always liked “I Think I’m In Love” by Money, the vibe of that one doesn’t really apply to ones tooling down the open road on a custom made bike. “Hold The Line” by Toto works well as does the Blue Oyster Cult tune but I was really curious why Paul didn’t choose “Wango Tango” by Nugent instead of “Cat Scratch Fever”. He also confused me a little bit with the Priest track as “Another Thing Coming” is not as driving a number as “Freewheel Burning” when it comes down to it. “American Woman” gets some new attention and always seems to work on a compilation and I had to tip the cap to his bringing two Southern Rock classics in the Molly Hatchet and Outlaws tunes. My hope for these numbers is that they spark some new interest in the musical minds of the younger fans that might not have yet been exposed to them and makes them look into the legends that delivered them for other trinkets. The CD also features three tunes done by the OCC Band and the first is “Summertime Blues” (the Eddie Cochran classic which was done by The Who and Blue Cheer most notably). I had to admit that I was not too crazy about their version but the guys all seem to be having fun in doing the tune and that amounts to something. Paul Sr. sings a little on the tune as well which is amusing. They also offer up two original numbers which fall into the Hard Rock/Blues area but I think that these tunes should have been packaged as a bonus CD and allowed the main aspect of the release be the picks of Paul Sr. I am sure these guys are a lot of fun to watch play in the proper setting.

The album comes with a foldout poster that shows a number of images of Paul Sr. and the Orange County Choppers HQ. While I don’t consider this a “must have” release based on the larger selection of tunes being available on so many other best of collections, I did think that this is a nice addition to one’s library especially if you are a fan of the “American Chopper” show and its main man. The CD itself will be featured on one of the upcoming episodes of the show and I think a bike is being fashioned to celebrate it as well.

Track Listing:
1. Mississippi Queen – Mountain
2. Two Tickets To Paradise – Eddie Money
3. Summertime Blues – Orange County Choppers Band
4. Sweet Jane – Mott The Hoople
5. Rock & Roll Hootchie Coo – Rick Derringer
6. Burnin’ For You – Blue Oyster Cult
7. Cold Sweat – Orange County Choppers Band
8. Hold The Line – Toto
9. Cat Scratch Fever – Ted Nugent
10. American Woman – The Guess Who
11. Hit & Run – Orange County Choppers Band
12. Carry On Wayward Son – Kansas
13. Green Grass & High Tides – The Outlaws
14. Flirtin’ With Disaster – Molly Hatchet
15. Pushin’ Too Hard – Orange County Choppers Band
16. You’ve Got Another Thing Comin’ – Judas Priest
17. Bonnie & Clyde – Death Valley Screamers

Official Website: http://www.orangecountychoppers.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.