“Nuclear Blast Sinister Spring Slaughter” by Various Artists

Artist: Various Artists
Title: “Nuclear Blast Sinister Spring Slaughter”
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Release Date: 3/2/2010
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 3.75/5

If you’ve been paying attention to any of our yearly “Best Of” lists here on PiercingMetal.com, then you will most likely recall how the roster of artists over at Nuclear Blast Records generally finds a healthy amount of releases on year end summary. One might think we are playing favorites but in all honesty this is hardly the truth. It just that since I began my own writing adventures some five years ago, that we have always found a majority of our own favorite bands and genre classifications taking up residence over there and we are convinced that the best is yet to come. That being said, the folks at Nuclear Blast Records have decided to treat their loyal followers by giving them eleven new tracks from their arsenal of artists for the incredible price of absolutely free. It’s not a lie and I am sure that you are thinking that this is too good to be true or that even things that are told to be free come at some great cost and if you felt this you are correct. The price that is heaped upon these incendiary Metal tracks is the willing transmission of your own allegiance and how you must now swear to uphold the banner of heavy music and be its champion going forward whenever it is physically possible to do so. Quite the fair price for eleven free tunes when you think about it. So what of these inclusions? Let’s give a brief look into them and let you discover the rest of the treats on your own.

It starts off with a demo track from Exodus who is riding a new high like never before, and it’s safe to say that there is no holding back with these guys now that a larger populace is paying attention to them again. Eluveitie are one of my own favorites in the Folk Metal realm and they pull out all the stops with their massive lineup and breathtaking sound while Arsis shows you just how good you can become when you practice, practice, practice. Nile won an Oscar for “Most Smoldering Metal that deals with Ancient Egyptian Themes” this year and one can see why with this offering and I cannot say enough about the good feeling I get in my Metal heart when I listen to anything that Sonata Arctica does. When you add Epica to the mix, well then you are making me decide an almost impossible choice because I have been following that particular band since their debut album. We hear a little new Mnemic, Threat Signal and Hypocrisy along with a few others but you are just going to have to brave those dark waters for yourself to see if it’s safe enough for you and we think that you will be glad that you did. All of these tracks are new ones from the artists most recent offerings on the Nuclear Blast Records banner and since we have seen almost all of the bands on the release performed live we can safely tell you if you think that they sound good on digital media, then just wait until you see how they mete out the Metal justice on the live stage.

You cannot go wrong for free and even if you feel like you might only want one or two tracks, it doesn’t hurt you to download them all and give them a chance. You will be glad you did and then when you are convinced of your own expertise, your assignment will be to grab the nearest soapbox and proclaim their excellence to the uninformed and yet interested parties who can use this little bit of education for their own aspiring Metal minds. Get to work.

Track Listing:
1. Exodus – “The Hammer And Life” (demo)
2. Eluveitie – “Thousandfold”
3. Arsis – “Beyond Forlorn”
4. Annotations Of An Autopsy – “Cryogenica”
5. Mnemic – “Sons Of The System”
6. Nile – “Permitting The Noble Dead To Descend To The Underworld”
7. Epica – “Resign To Surrender”
8. Threat Signal – “Through My Eyes”
9. Sonata Arctica – “Flag In The Ground”
10. Augury – “Faith Puppeteers”
11. Hypocrisy – “Hang Him High”

Official Website: http://www.nuclearblastusa.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.