“My Destiny” by Leaves Eyes

Artist: Leaves Eyes
Title: “My Destiny” EP
Label: Napalm Records
Release Date: 7/28/2009
Genre: Symphonic Gothic Metal
Rating: 3.75

Once again the band Leaves Eyes has delivered an EP of songs for us to enjoy as a prelude to their full-length release and as in the past it offers up the albums lead track in its full format and often also presents to us an edited or remixed version. The latter is the case with “My Destiny” and while the song itself is strong, I hardly saw the need to offer a reworked version since it’s too new a song to my ears. The other great thing about the Leaves Eyes EP’s is that they are the place to find tracks that for some reason or another are left off of the full recording but instead of being swept away from the studio floor we get them here. As expected the tracks work very well with the title track and are quite good as opposed to being something that one might throw into the bin or hope is never heard again based on its being so damn bad. New tracks come via “The Battle Of Maldon” and “Nine Wave Maidens” and I had to say that I really liked the first one based on just how powerful it was at certain points. It’s a soaring track when it comes down to it. They also include an acoustic version of “Scarborough Fair” that is rather charming and a nice difference from the one that we found on “Njord” which had a much more Metal feel to it. This is one of my very favorite tunes of all time in the first place so I like seeing it done justice. “Northbound” is the only other track from “Njord” on the EP and while a solid tune in its own right I wondered what made them choose this one as opposed to something like “Irish Rain” which I felt was just a little bit better.

This EP is also the first time that the bands fans get to hear the group’s newest members with Seven Antonopoulos on drums and Alla Fedynitch on bass. The musicians replace Chris and Moritz who played bass and drums in the band for years. Welcome to the band folks and for the rest of you, be sure to check out the bands newest album “Njord” and their excellent DVD “We Came With The Northern Winds”.

Track Listing:
1. My Destiny
2. The Battle Of Maldon
3. Scarborough Fair (acoustic)
4. Northbound
5. Nine Wave Maidens
6. My Destiny (remix)

Official Website: http://www.leaveseyes.de/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.