“Mothership: The Very Best Of Led Zeppelin” by Led Zeppelin

Artist: Led Zeppelin
Title: “Mothership: The Very Best Of Led Zeppelin” – (remastered/limited edition)
Label: Atlantic Records
Release Date: 11/13/2007
Genre: Hard Rock/Blues Rock
Rating: 5/5

“Mothership: The Very Best Of Led Zeppelin” is the first-ever compilation that celebrates the music of the legendary group across the span of two CD’s and its presented twenty four tracks were hand picked by the band members themselves. With the likes of Plant, Page and Jones doing the song selections you would expect it to contain the literal cream of the crop from their back catalog and perhaps even include their own favorite numbers somewhere in the mix. Obviously a band like Led Zeppelin has a lot of great songs and each of them mean something to everyone who has ever been a fan and even though the release manages to cover a lot of ground there are several tracks of note missing from it. Despite this you cannot find fault in it for it seems to include all of the signature and staple numbers without any doubt. We find our “Immigrant Song”, “Communication Breakdown”, “Black Dog” and the venerated “Stairway To Heaven” to enjoy and while songs like “Livin’ Lovin’ Maid (She’s Just A Woman) and “In The Light” or “In My Time Of Dying” might not be here I am sure they were only left off to keep the release at two CD’s as opposed to three or four.

Remember, before this compilation was even an idea we had a comprehensive Led Zeppelin boxed set that had four CD’s to it, and it was followed by a two CD collection which featured all of the songs left off of that first boxed set. When you add this to the fact that all of the individual albums were made available as a set this comes across as a nice sampler pack for a younger music fan who has not yet experienced the Zeppelin majesty or as something cool for you to get the Led out with while on drives in the car or during free time at the office. Either option works when it comes down to it. The release comes packaged in a foldout digipak that features each band member and includes a book with a great historical summary by David Fricke. The summary gives the listener a better look into why the songs that were included on the set were chosen and makes for interesting reading on its own. It is accompanied by several archive photos from across the bands career. If you already own all of the bands music and video then perhaps this one is not for you, but if you are more the Led Zeppelin fanatic that I think all Rockers have a little touch of inside then by all means grab this to complete your collection and revisit their storied past. As I listened to the CD I found myself amazed at how relevant the music remained and how exciting it still was when played at a proper volume. Truly they were Rock & Roll’s Overlords and apparently are still holding strong to that title.

Bonus DVD: The special edition of this release also gives you a bonus DVD as a third disc and it features content that you might have already seen if you purchased a copy of the eponymously titled “Led Zeppelin” DVD that was released a few years ago. If you have not done this then it will definitely serve as a taste of what you will enjoy in full when you go to snare a copy of your own. They don’t show snippets of songs here but instead feature the complete numbers, yet with this bonus we find songs than span across the two individual DVD’s in that original box. Personally I would have liked to find other footage as opposed to something I already owned but it did make a nice enhancement to the double CD hits we had to jam out to. Songs featured on the DVD are: “We’re Gonna Groove”, “I Can’t Quit You Babe”, “Dazed And Confused”, “White Summer”, “What Is And What Should Never Be”, “Moby Dick”, “Whole Lotta Love”, “Communication Breakdown”, “Bring It On Home”, “Immigrant Song”, “Black Dog”, “Misty Mountain Hop”, “The Ocean”, “Going To California”, “In My Time Of Dying”, “Stairway To Heaven”, “Rock And Roll”, “Nobody’s Fault But Mine”, “Kashmir”, “Whole Lotta Love”.

Track Listing:
1. Good Times Bad Times
2. Communication Breakdown
3. Dazed And Confused
4. Babe I’m Gonna Leave You
5. Whole Lotta Love
6. Ramble On
7. Heartbreaker
8. Immigrant Song
9. Since I’ve Been Loving You
10. Rock And Roll
11. Black Dog
12. When The Levee Breaks
13. Stairway To Heaven
14. The Song Remains The Same
15. Over The Hills And Far Away
16. D’yer Maker
17. No Quarter
18. Trampled Under Foot
19. Houses Of The Holy
20. Kashmir
21. Nobody’s Fault But Mine
22. Achilles Last Stand
23. In The Evening
24. All My Love

Official Website: www.ledzeppelin.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.