“Live At The Isle Of Wight Festival 1970” by The Who

Artist: The Who
Title: “Live At The Isle Of Wight Festival 1970”
Label: Eagle Records
Release Date: 8/10/2010
Genre: Rock
Rating: 4/5

Having never owned this CD when it was originally issued or even the one that was listed as “remastered” some years later, I was quite cool with Eagle Records giving fans of The Who another chance to enjoy them in what is often termed as their finest hour. If you already own a copy of the DVD that was re-released back in 2006 by Eagle Vision then you know full well how that film brought you right to the concert stage and made you feel as though you were there amidst the hundreds of thousands of crazed music fans. This is the perfect audio companion for that video and lets you take the amazing performance with you after loading it onto your Ipod or other media player (if any still are relevant at this point in time). Of course if you don’t yet own the film for any reason then I strongly recommend that you get to ordering one as soon as you finish lashing yourself for the oversight. After you get caught up to speed on the video you can order the audio companion, but I do recommend the film be enjoyed first. Despite these rules, here is what is to be found on the CD version of the Isle Of Wight performance. The show begins with some of your classic Who standards and even a lengthy “Young Man Blues” that is sure to get the groove going on in your stereo. After the tune “Water” completes we get the full performance of their magnum opus “Tommy” and while it begins with CD1 and requires you swap CD’s out (if you don’t have a changer), I hardly think that you will find this a problem. The show continues on CD2 beginning with “Acid Queen” and a rousing “Pinball Wizard” which is still one of my very favorite songs by the band even though many might feel this is too overplayed at this point in time.

The great thing about the recording is how it presents the show exactly as it was performed and in the same order as opposed to the earlier edition which mixed songs around a little bit. To be honest, I am not sure how or why that was done, but since I don’t own a copy of that version I will leave the complaining to those others who feel that they are now stuck with a valueless CD. “Tommy” is a great album and I am sure more will agree than standing with an opposing view about how cool it is to hear it performed in concert from beginning to end. The band had an energy and a liveliness that few other bands had and the show is a testament to their greatness. Truly The Who were in command of all the eight hundred or so thousand fans that were estimated to be at this performance. I defy the listener to not find themselves singing along, doing windmills on their air guitar or driving the pets crazy by tapping on the coffee table as if you were Keith Moon himself. If there was ever a “Greatest Hits” live show to own then this is the one. You will not regret purchasing this one. A small booklet comes with the CD and this is three pages of liner notes about the show and four pages with photos, the final page gives you the track listing. In today’s music world The Who still tours and performs to sold out audiences but it is only with Roger Daltrey and Pete Townsend as their original members. Suffice it to say, they still got it.

Track Listing:
1. Heaven And Hell
2. I Cant Explain
3. Young Man Blues
4. I Don’t Even Know Myself
5. Water
6. Overture
7. It’s A Boy
8. 1921
9. Amazing Journey
10. Sparks
11. Eyesight To The Blind
12. Christmas
13. The Acid Queen
14. Pinball Wizard
15. Do You Think It’s Alright?
16. Fiddle About
17. Tommy Can You Hear Me?
18. There’s A Doctor
19. Go To The Mirror
20. Miracle Cure
21. I’m Free
22. Tommy’s Holiday Camp
23. We’re Not Gonna Take It
24. Summertime Blues
25. Shakin’ All Over/Spoonful/Twist & Shout
26. Substitute
27. My Generation
28. Naked Eye
29. Magic Bus

Official Website: http://www.thewho.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.