“KISS: eXposed” by KISS

Artist: KISS
Title: “eXposed”
Label: Universal Music
Release Date: 2/19/2002
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 7.5/10

I remember when this DVD first came out as a VHS tape very clearly. When it was advertised we were told that not only would we get to have a lot of KISS’ videos on one tape but we would also for the first time-ever get an authorized product that featured 8 makeup years live performances. These clips would range from very early in the career to just before the makeup was taken off. Originally released in 1987 I don’t think that there was a KISS fan in existence who did not race to the store to get a copy. The video was setup as a “mock-umentary” with a member of the short-lived television show “Fridays” as the host who would be interviewing the members of KISS in their homes on a normal day. Obviously the outrageous settings of these homes was not true to what living was like for them yet in the needs of the video it fit in. Cutting between comedic lines we do get some good information on some of these clips and the old live performances especially. The earliest footage suffers a little due to its time of record while the later material such as the 1977 stuff is crystal clear and makes you long for a full show. At the time the band was Gene, Paul and Eric Carr and Bruce Kulick and sadly these last two members are hardly visible in the video and do more of a “Walk-In” appearance rather than contribute to anything being discussed. There is no commentary from original members Ace Frehley and Peter Criss either.

There are no bonus features to speak of and this is literally a direct transfer of the original VHS to the DVD Medium. However if you were like me an owned the tape you will also find the re-issue of this a blessing because just how long can these tapes last anyway. This is an easily and highly recommended piece of the KISS Video collection as its fun to watch and you get your appetite for classic clips fed. If you enjoyed the non-makeup years of KISS music this is especially good since it has the videos from those albums they released. If you gave up on KISS when they took the face paint off then this will bring you a nice reminder of the glory days. Check it out.

Song Listing:
1. Who Wants To Be Lonely – video ‘86
2. Uh! All Night – video ‘86
3. I Love It Loud – live Rio De Janeiro ‘83
4. Deuce – live San Francisco ‘75
5. Strutter – live Detroit ‘76
6. Beth – live Houston ‘77
7. Detroit Rock City – live Australia ‘80
8. Tears Are Falling – video ‘85
9. Lick It Up – video ‘83
10. All Hell’s Breaking Loose – video ‘84
11. I Love It Loud – video ‘82
12. I Stole Your Love – live Houston ‘77
13. Heaven’s On Fire – video ‘84
14. Ladies Room – live Houston ‘77
15. Rock And Roll All Nite – live Australia ‘80

Official Web site: www.KISSOnline.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.