“Inhuman Rampage” (Special Edition) by Dragonforce

Artist: Dragonforce
Title: “Inhuman Rampage” (Special Edition)
Label: Roadrunner Records
Release Date: 3/13/2007
Genre: Super Sonic Power Metal
Rating: 4.5/5

My original review of “Inhuman Rampage” by Dragonforce ran something like this:

“Faster than a speeding bullet” seems to no longer solely define pop culture’s “Man Of Steel”; as now it stands incredibly true of the UK’s Sonic Power Metal sensations DRAGONFORCE! You really cannot explain the band all that easily, while the music holds its core origin in Melodic Power Metal, they mix elements of Thrash much like Annihilator did in their early years. The end result is very simply a brand of Metal that requires you wear a seatbelt as you listen. Normally with fast paced Metal you owe it all to consistent rhythm runs on the guitar while the drummer does blast beats of quick syncopations that are similar. With Dragonforce, the shredding is the combined might of Herman Li and Sam Totman who don’t just play quick rhythms but instead choose to push the limits of science with their leads during the solo breaks and across the length of the bands songs. Underneath their riveting riffs is the drumming of Dave Mackintosh, a quality player thundering along with some great double bass on practically every song. Playing this band too loud in your stereo might cause heart palpitations based on Dave’s playing level. Vadim Pruzhanov on keyboards adds an interesting high tech video game/progressive feel to the band while Fred LeClerq chases the guitar riffs with the bass. They are clearly musicians who enjoy not only pushing the envelope on what they can do and how fast, but to have fun as they do. As you listen to the album there is a good chance that you will feel that this approach as well. Of course a band like this needs a singer who can not only keep up with everyone but also command the charge into Metal glory. Dragonforce has such a presence in lead singer ZP Theart, whose melodic and powerful range suit this band to perfection; when you hear him sing there are moments you feel he is constantly pushing himself to the limit to be as fast as his band mates. He has a high vocal range and the other members of the group provide some great backups making the overall sound of the band a lot fuller than you would normally expect from a Power Metal band of this type.”

Essentially this is a good lead in to the CD Special Edition that we have here and if you would like to see the rest of the original review just search for it to do so. When Dragonforce signed to Roadrunner Records it would be a great thing for both the label and for Metal fans as there doesn’t seem to be any other band that is capable of delivering such exciting levels of Power Metal. With this release the listener gets the same excellent CD that they should already wisely be owners of as well as some cool additions to make this one worth looking further into. There is a bonus track for starters and it is a suitable closer to the record and big on the harmony and twin-shredding that fans of the band have some to love so much. After a year of listening to the original music on this, I still find myself amazed and impressed with how fast they can go without sacrificing any of their musical proficiency. The Special Edition also features a DVD bonus and its here that you can see the guys in action on both videos and on the concert stage. The videos are amusing to say the least, and especially in “TTFATF” when the guitar solos begin. The listener can watch in awe as they show these riffs are not merely some studio trickery. A “Rockumentary” is part of the feature and its here that we find the guys are just out to have a good time as well. There is plenty of clowning around with fans and each other and by the close of the segment you take away that the band does not take themselves too seriously. The DVD closes out with “My Spirit Will Go On”, which is one of my favorites from the preceding album “Sonic Firestorm”. This track delivers in concert, and since it was the first track I ever heard from the band it holds a special place in my heart. I did find the live piece a teaser because I was really interested in seeing more clips of its kind once it had ended. Lets hope for a full concert DVD from them soon.

The SE is encased in an embossed slipcase and looks great in the collection, so if you are already a fan this is something new to look out for. If you are not a fan, well, time that you get with the program and see what you have been missing out on.

Track Listing:
1. Through The Fire And The Flames
2. Revolution Deathsquad
3. Storming The Burning Fields
4. Operation Ground And Pound
5. Body Breakdown
6. Cry For Eternity
7. The Flame Of Youth
8. Trail Of Broken Hearts
9. Lost Souls In Endless Time – bonus

1. Through The Fire And The Flames – video
2. Operation Ground And Pound – video
3. Behind The Scenes Rockumentary
4. My Spirit Will Go On – live

Official Website: www.dragonforce.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.