“I Just Wanna Rock: Live In Paris” by Joe Satriani

Artist: Joe Satriani
Title: “I Just Wanna Rock: Live In Paris”
Label: Epic Records
Release Date: 2/2/2010
Genre: Instrumental Rock
Rating: 4/5

Just as the titled denotes, “Live In Paris: I Just Wanna Rock” captures guitar virtuoso Joe Satriani in one of the settings that serves him best and that is none other than the concert stage. Before we continue on about this one you might be questioning the relevance in purchasing another live Satriani album based on his only releasing “Satriani Live!” back in 2006. That album had a whopping 19 tunes across the span of two CD’s and fans should be aware that while “Live In Paris” does feature ten of these same songs, it also adds twelve others from the musicians career that will definitely be easy to enjoy. It also presents them as being delivered by a different group of musicians and that might make it worthy of investigation a little more. The Satch band for the concert features monster bass player Stu Hamm, Galen Henson on rhythm guitar and Jeff Campitelli on the drums – all capable players when it comes to their manner of execution of this material and one should expect nothing less of a band assembled by Joe. Of course I am still wondering why someone like Joe even needs a rhythm guitarist but I guess in the end this fills it all out a little better. The show presented here on “Live In Paris” is the full gig as performed on May 27th 2008 at the Rex Theatre and that makes it a very close relative of “Satriani Live” but still one that I think the long time fans will welcome into their music library.

Guitar wizardry and I only go so far because over the course of my youth I was a drummer and while interested in the guitar its magic seems to be something that I can most enjoy when being in a band that has vocals all around it. Satriani however does not seem to distance this kind of mindset should you be in the same boat as me and manages to keep the listener thrilled with all of the amazing things that he is able to do with the guitar. As far as live recordings go this is a superb representation of the player’s repertoire and everyone shines as the album and concert progress. My casual fandom of the musician finds me sticking with tracks like “Satch Boogie”, “Flying In A Blue Dream” and of course the rousing closer of “Surfing With The Alien” but should you be a bona fide Satriani study, then I am predicting that you shall have a difficult time determining what you liked the most. After listening to this over two hour plus show you will surely be firm in your statement about Joe Satriani being one of the best guitar players in the business. He is so fluid and musically resourceful with his playing that he makes it sound easy even though you realize that it is so far from being the case.

Interestingly enough they released a companion DVD for this audio concert and we found it strange that it was not packaged together and while this is often a mantra of mine, with this particular release I felt that it would have been a good idea. They really slack on the booklet and only give you a two page foldout that really offers the listener nothing. Despite this slight qualm of mine the release is superb and showcases his talent and his tunes in an exceptional fashion. Check this one out even if you are a newer fan because it’s safe enough to begin your journey into his repertoire with this one, and should you have interest in knowing how Joe works within the context of a conventional Rock band be sure to do a little research on Chickenfoot. That’s the band he formed with former Van Halen singer Sammy Hagar. It’s good stuff.

Track Listing:
1. I Just Wanna Rock
2. Overdriver
3. Satch Boogie
4. Ice 9
5. Diddle-Y-A-Doo-Dat
6. Flying In A Blue Dream
7. Ghosts
8. Revelation
9. Super Colossal
10. One Big Rush
11. Musterion
12. Out Of The Sunrise
13. Time Machine
14. Cool
15. Andalusia
16. Bass Solo
17. Cryin’
18. Mystical Potato Head Groove Thing
19. Always With Me, Always With You
20. Surfing With The Alien
21. Crowd Chant
22. Summer Song

Official Website: http://www.joesatriani.com

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.