Full Winners Of The 2017 Alternative Press Music Awards

alternative press music awards logo

Hey there my friends, I am here once again to share some music awards winners rundown from the recently held Alternative Press Music Awards. I shared this information last year as longer tenured readers might recall and it doesn’t hurt for more to learn who is getting awards for the work that they do in music. Truth be told this kind of music awards show is more in tune with what we cover here on PiercingMetal than the Grammy Awards are so let’s get down to business. I’ve left the nominees in the list as well so you can see who the winners beat out.

Best Vocalist:
Winner: Lynn Gunn (PVRIS)
Ben Barlow (Neck Deep)
Cody Carson (Set It Off)
Derek DiScanio (State Champs)
John O’Callaghan (The Maine)
Keith Buckley (Every Time I Die)

Best Guitarist Presented By PRS:
Winner: Jordan Buckley (Every Time I Die)
Ben Weinman (The Dillinger Escape Plan)
Claudio Sanchez (Coheed And Cambria)
Reba Meyers (Code Orange)
Steve Menoian (I Prevail)
Teppei Teranishi (Thrice)

Best Hard Rock Artist:
Winner: The Pretty Reckless
Bullet For My Valentine
Highly Suspect
In This Moment

Best New Artist Music Video Presented By Journeys:
Winner: With Confidence – “Voldemort”
K.Flay – “Blood In The Cut”
Pup – “Sleep In The Heat”
SWMRS – “Palm Trees”
Tiny Moving Parts – “Common Cold”
Watsky – “Don’t Be Nice”

Best Music Video Presented By Journeys:
Winner: State Champs – “Losing Myself”
Highly Suspect – “Bloodfeather”
I See Stars – “Calm Snow”
Korn – “Insane”
Memphis May Fire – “This Light I Hold” (feat. Jacoby Shaddix)
Sum 41 – “Fake My Own Death”

Best Underground Band:
Winner: Silent Planet
Knocked Loose
Palaye Royale
With Confidence

Breakthrough Band:
Winner: Waterparks
Ice Nine Kills
Moose Blood
One Ok Rock

Best Bassist:
Winner: Reginald “Fieldy” Arvizu (Korn)
Alex Dean (Architects)
Chris Hinkley ( The Mighty)
Fat Mike (NOFX)
Ryan Scott Graham (State Champs)
Sergio Vega (Deftones)

Best Drummer:
Winner: Frank Zummo (Sum 41)
Arejay Hale (Halestorm)
Aric Improta (Night Verses)
Dean Butterworth (Good Charlotte)
Matt Mingus (Dance Gavin Dance)
JP “Rook” Cappelletty (Machine Gun Kelly)

Best Live Band:
Winner: Falling In Reverse
Dance Gavin Dance
In This Moment

Most Dedicated Fanbase Presented By Fearless Records:
Winner: Twenty One Pilots
Melanie Martinez
Motionless In White
Sleeping With Sirens

Song Of The Year Presented By Epitaph Records:
Winner: Andy Black – “We Don’t Have To Dance”
A Day To Remember – “Paranoia”
Pierce The Veil – “Circles”
Machine Gun Kelly – “Alpha Omega”
Real Friends – “Mess”
Waterparks – “Stupid For You”

Album Of The Year Presented By Journeys:
Winner: Pierce The Veil – “Misadventures”
Andy Black – “The Shadow Side”
Tonight Alive – “Limitless”
Architects – “All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us”
Attila – “Chaos”
Beartooth – “Aggressive”
Every Time I Die – “Low Teens”
I Prevail – “Lifelines”
Moose Blood – “Blush”
Waterparks – “Double Dare”

Artist Of The Year Presented By Monster Energy:
Winner: Panic! At The Disco
A Day To Remember
Fall Out Boy
Good Charlotte
Green Day
Machine Gun Kelly
Pierce The Veil
Sum 41
The Pretty Reckless

‘Vanguard Award’ to Korn
“Icon Award” to Against Me!‘s Laura Jane Grace
“Influencer Award” to John Feldmann, Producer (and member of Goldfinger, etc.)

*** end of list ***

PiercingMetal Thoughts: In retrospect, I was unhappy with a couple of the winning names based on who else was nominated. I would have chosen In This Moment or Halestorm for Best Hard Rock artists over Escape The Fate and as far as “Most Dedicated Fans”, to me that goes to Motionless In White or Paramore for sure. Oh well, what can you do but say “better luck next year”. What do you think of the winners for this years APMA’s? Did your favorite artist get robbed of a victory? Chime in down below in the comments section for sure so we know you are out there.

Official Website: https://www.altpress.com/

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.