“Far From The Sun” by Amorphis

Artist: Amorphis
Title: “Far From The Sun”
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Release Date: 2004
Style: Heavy Metal
Rating: 8/10

With each release Amorphis continues to grow in both a musical and creative manner. “Far From The Sun” is the newest proof of this as with this CD the band has given us something very different from their usual or expected fare. As many fans probably know the band takes their name from the word “amorphous” which means something that holds no shape or form. On “Far From The Sun” the group shows just how profound this term can be when applied to a musical sense. It is interesting to see this Finnish act that have been held in such high regard take such a different step with this particular record. On one hand I was very impressed because the music simply flowed across the entire CD. With many other Finnish bands delivering blistering Power Metal nowadays I felt Amorphis was showing that they no longer need to press that course. It’s time for them to influence future generation of Metal fans.

While I was impressed with a number of tracks on the record I would have to say that my very favorite track is “Day Of Your Beliefs”. As the opener it starts off subtly and then kicks into a solid groove and moody drive as it progresses. There are lots of Deep Purple styled keyboards and a great guitar riff. It was a fine choice for the first track. “Far From The Sun” is present in two versions, one being acoustic and the other electric. The title track gets continued spin in my changer in both of its incarnations. The more rocking numbers would be “Planetary Misfortune” and “Darkrooms” and “Ethereal Solitude” is the best of the couple of slow numbers that appear on the disk. You will find this an equally enjoyable listen when you take the time to do so.

However, there will probably be older Fans of the group who are depressed about this musical change and also the fact that lead singer Pasi Koskinen leaving the group. His replacement is Tomi Joutsen and as someone who already saw him perform I think they will be pleasantly surprised. Don’t pass on this CD if you are a fan of the group, or if you enjoy an almost “Trip Rock” sort of sound.

Track List:
1. Day Of Your Beliefs
2. Planetary Misfortune
3. Evil Inside
4. Mourning Soil
5. Far From The Sun
6. Ethereal Solitude
7. Killing Goodness
8. God Of Deception
9. Higher Ground
10. Smithereens
11. Shining Turns To Grey
12. Follow Me Into The Fire
13. Darkrooms
14. Dreams Of The Damned
15. Far From The Sun (acoustic version)
16. Evil Inside (video)

Official Website: www.Amorphis.net

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.