“Emissaries” by Melechesh

Artist: Melechesh
Title: “Emissaries”
Label: The End Records
Release Date: 1/23/2007
Genre: Middle Eastern Black Metal
Rating: 4/5

The year was 1993 and the City was Jerusalem where the formation of Melechesh: Sumerian Thrashing Black Metal first came to life. The project was envisioned by singer/guitarist/mystic Ashmedi who found the subject matter both compelling and interesting and something that must be brought to life in the Metal community. Rooted firmly in Black Metal, Melechesh also offered something else and that was the elements of Middle Eastern time signatures and musical vibe. The end result would become the self-titled brand of music called Mesopotamian Metal and for those that were also interested in this brand it would be Melechesh who would lead the charge. Their new release “Emissaries” gives the listener some intense Sumerian Black Metal Thrash with incredibly powerful drumming and guitar work. The two work closely together and sound more like partners that rhythm and lead sections of the music. This feel comes from the fact that Ashmedi also writes the drumming that he wants to accompany his riffs. When you add in his shrieking vocal growls you are taken to a different world of Metal and it’s a very quick introduction that you will find when the album delivers “Rebirth Of The Nemesis”. Drummer Xul is almost super human on the kit and will surely impress all fans of the blast beats on the piece. Yet, this is not all that his playing involves. Ashmedi is an inspired writer on this recording and this will most probably exceed the expectations of the bands fans who claim how their release “Sphinx” was the signature recording. Despite its style it’s not as over the top with the ethnic feels as to isolate listeners and there is enough traditional Black Metal vibe with a twist of mysticism to make the curious take to this and enjoy it. Rounding out the band is guitarist Moloch and bassist Al Hazred. Hazred also provides keyboard work as needed.

While there is speeding tracks like “Sand Grain Universe” and “Touching The Spheres Of Sephiroth” the guys show that they are capable of being a little deeper than others who deliver other brands of Black Metal to the world. For example the group includes a cover song with “Gyroscope”, a song that was originally done by The Tea Party and while I have never heard the original version it surely works well as a Melechesh tune. The thrashing pauses and a breather is given to the listener during “The Scribes Of Ku” where as it plays you envision yourself smoking hookah in a Middle Eastern café more than listening to any sort of Metal album. These tracks change the mood and give the album a lot more impact when it becomes a Thrash Fest once again. This release comes with high recommendations, as it dares to be different and make you think just a little. It you are intrigued by elements of mysticism and middle eastern cultures of the past then Melechesh is the band for you.

Track Listing:
1. Rebirth Of The Nemesis (Enuma Elish Rewritten)
2. Ladders To Sumeria
3. Deluge Of Delusional Dream (Act 1 & 2)
4. Touching The Spheres Of Sephiroth
5. Gyroscope
6. Doubled Helixed Sceptre
7. The Scribes Of Kur
8. Leper Jerusalem
9. Sand Grain Universe
10. Emissaries And The Mysterium Magnum

Official Website: www.melechesh.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.