“Days Of Rising Doom: The Metal Opera” by Aina

Artist: Aina
Title: “Days Of Rising Doom” – Limited Edition
Label: Transmission Records
Release Date: 4/13/2004
Genre: Symphonic Metal
Rating: 8/10

I wanted to start off by saying how much I enjoyed this piece. The production is outstanding and the cast of players literally reads like a who’s who in power metal music. Luminaries (names listed below) such Michael Kiske and Tobias Sammett and many more join the core musicians who make up this CD. “Aina, Days Of Rising Doom” tells a lavish story of far away mythical lands and the obvious good versus evil with the eventual hopeful victory of good (I will not ruin the surprise here and will leave it up to you to find out more).

The packaging for the item I reviewed was listed as the “Limited Edition – Ecobook”. This was a well crafted hardcover book and the pages inside were filled with lyrics, photos of the players as well as vividly detailed artwork that depicted the story that was being told.

Given such a rich cast of talent as well as the fullness of the musical aspect (both choral & orchestral) it is doubtful to assume this will be anything more than an epic CD. Fans of Avantasia, Sonata Arctica, Nightwish & Epica will find themselves drawn to this piece. Among my favorite numbers are “Flight Of Torek”, “Serendipitiy”,

Creators/Players: Sascha Paeth, Robert Hunecke-Rizzo, Amanda Somerville, Miro.

Guests: Marco & Empu (Nightwish), Michael Kiske (Helloween), Tobias Sammett (EdGuy/Avantasia), Glen Hughes, Candace Knight, Simone Simons (Epica), Sass Jordan, Erik Norlander, Derek Sherinian, Jens Johansson and many more.

The Eco-Book comes with a DVD and a bonus CD. You will need a non-region specific player to view the DVD on it, since this is an import release. I was unable to review that portion of the piece. The 2nd CD is filled with alternate tracks as well as some orchestrations of the pieces on the 1st CD. I did enjoy it very much and recommend this particular item to those who enjoy the music of EdGuy, Helloween and the bands that fall under this sound. It is an Epic, and overall its creators have done well in its creation. I doubt that fans of these artists and guests will be disappointed in what they hear. It can be ordered as an Import on the site, but I advise people look on Ebay.com or even Amazon.com to see if someone is selling a copy.

Track Listing:
1. Aina Overture
2. Revelations
3. Silver Maiden
4. Flight Of Torek
5. Naschtok Is Born
6. The Beast Within
7. The Siege Of Aina
8. Talon’s Last Hope
9. Rape Of Oria
10. Son Of Sorvahr
11. Serendipity
12. Lalae Amer
13. Rebellion
14. Orianna’s Wrath
15. Restoration

Official Website: http://www.thestoryofaina.nl/

Editor’s Note: This article was written for another medium prior to the 2005 launch of PiercingMetal.com and has been added to our content for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.