BMG Releases Dokken “The Elektra Albums 1983-1987” Boxed Set

band logos, dokken, dokken band logo

The Press Release:
The 4 albums that made Dokken one of the ‘80s top rock bands collected together as a box set (available in LP or CD formats) from BMG, ‘The Elektra Albums 1983-1987.’

Available now, the limited edition set includes Dokken’s million-selling, worldwide charting first 4 studio albums (‘Breaking the Chains,’ ‘Tooth and Nail,’ ‘Under Lock and Key,’ and ‘Back for the Attack’) as a either a 5LP or 5CD set. This era features the classic line-up of Don Dokken (vocals), George Lynch (guitar), Jeff Pilson (bass), and “Wild” Mick Brown (drums), and all have been newly remastered by Andy Pearce (Black Sabbath, Motorhead). Additionally, the LP box features 180g black vinyl.

album covers, dokken, dokken album covers

Order Here – we can use same link as pre-order – Check Out New Visualizer below

Both LP & CD box sets include:
* Breaking The Chains (1983) – US #136
– Includes “Breaking The Chains” (#32 US Rock) and “Paris Is Burning (Live)”
* Tooth And Nail (1984) – PLATINUM – US #49
– Includes “Into The Fire” (#21 US Rock), “Just Got Lucky” (#27 US Rock), and “Alone Again” (#64 US Hot 100, #20 US Rock)
* Under Lock And Key (1985) – PLATINUM – US #32
– Includes “The Hunter” (#25 US Rock), “In My Dreams” (#77 US Hot 100, #24 US Rock)
* Back For The Attack (1987) – PLATINUM – US #13
– Includes The Theme From Nightmare On Elm Street 3, “Dream Warriors” (#22 US Rock), “Burning Like A Flame” (#72 US Hot 100, #20 US Rock), and “Prisoner” (#37 US Rock)

5LP boxset includes:
* Breaking The Chains 1LP
* Tooth And Nail 1LP
* Under Lock And Key 1LP
* Back For The Attack 2LP

4CD boxset includes:
* Breaking The Chains 1CD
* Tooth And Nail 1CD
* Under Lock And Key 1CD
* Back For The Attack 1CD

Hailing from Los Angeles, Dokken released a string of platinum albums throughout the 1980’s, and toured the globe with the biggest names in hard rock and heavy metal, including Van Halen, Aerosmith, Metallica, Scorpions, and Kiss.

The band had several hit singles on the Mainstream Rock and Billboard Hot 100 charts, and were all over MTV with their videos for “Breaking The Chains”, “Alone Again”, “Into The Fire”, “In My Dreams”, “It’s Not Love”, “Burning Like A Flame” and especially the Theme from Nightmare on Elm Street 3, “Dream Warriors’, where they starred alongside Freddy Krueger.

Dokken have sold more than 10 million albums worldwide, and their live album, Beast from the East was nominated for the inaugural Grammy Award for Best Metal Performance in 1989.

And now, fans will get to experience – and hear – all four classic albums in a way they had never been able to before.

*** end of transmission ***

PiercingMetal Thoughts: Now this is a release that I am very excited about because back in the years of these albums original issue, I was 100% into the Metal sound and loved all of these works. For those of a similar vintage, you might recall how many videos the band had being broadcast on MTV when they used to play videos and yes even the Metal ones. You’d see them during the daily countdown and of course on the Headbangers Ball. As a musician myself back then there was even times when I would find myself jamming out with friends to a few of these songs. I remember “Tooth and Nail” and “Just Got Lucky” being favorites to pound the skins along to. Oddly enough, despite my deep appreciation of the band I only saw them once back then and if memory serves me correctly it was when they opened up for Judas Priest during the “Turbo” tour. I’d catch them later with a different lineup under Don’s command and would see George’s solo effort The Lynch Mob a few times. I’m going to try and get my hands on this one and give it that good old review type stuff and will likely get the CD edition only. I don’t really purchase much vinyl but hey if someone gifts it to me I am always appreciative. At this point in history I don’t really see an all original member Dokken reunion happening but these days you never know. Wrapping up I wonder what you readers think about this news and the release. Will you be purchasing? Chime in down below in the comments section and I will see you next time. Please stay safe out there.


bmg, bmg logo, record label logos

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.