“Bam Margera Presents: Viva La Bands” Vol. 2 by Various Artists

Artist: Various Artists
Title: “Bam Margera Presents: Viva La Bands” Vol. 2 by Various Artists
Label: Filthy Note Records
Release Date: 9/4/2007
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 3.5/5

In the album liner notes pro-skateboarder and media personality Bam Margera explains why such a compilation like “Viva La Bands” actually exists – “the reason I created Viva La Bands is to spread some of the best music that rarely gets heard on radio or on MTV. This disc is just a small sample of some great music”. He certainly is right to the point about this and I have to agree with him about it because conventional radio is surely not the place to first hear about the most exciting music that the world has to offer you as a fan of that which is really out there to experience. The Rocker Set is especially compromised by MTV who no longer shows much that we can find merit in and is instead focused on Rap shows, celebreality programs and dating shows about hanging with peoples Mom or having ones Parents pick the perfect partner for you. I can only say “Next” to all of that Sweet Sixteen gibberish as well since it sets up a bad example for the regular class of people. Heavy Metal fans get the 2 hour “Headbangers Ball”, but that is only a teaser when it comes down to it. I admit that I have admired Bam’s sense of purpose towards music even though I am not the biggest follower of the television programs he is the focus of. His “Viva La Bam” show made everyone aware of the band HIM, and plastered their logo everywhere. So much was this the case that people felt it was his as opposed to the Gothic Melancholy Finnish rockers.

His second compilation is a treat that follows the same lines of the original as it presents the casual and diehard fan of his show some really amazing music. He crosses a number of genre classifications in his selections as well and offers up the Groove Rock of Clutch and Shiny Toy Guns and mixes it with the chaos of Gwar and his brothers band CKY. The listener of the darker side of Metal is given props by the inclusion of Dimmu Borgir and Malevolent Creation whose presence on the CD will show those who feel that they know heavy ain’t heard nothing yet. Finland’s The 69 Eyes and Children Of Bodom are along for the ride as well and show two sides of the sound that comes from this incredible region of the world. The amount of music from over there often makes music fans consider relocation. Bam also included a track from the first band he signed to his label with Vains Of Jenna, who are currently on a Summer 2007 tour with Poison and Ratt. The great aspect of the CD is that it is music that the entertainer himself actually enjoys, listens to and helps to foster as much as he can – so if you are one of those fans who think that he just slapped his name on the record then you are incredibly wrong. I raise the horns to you Bam for your excellent taste in that which rocks as it is right in tune with that which the Metal Community is finding most relevant today.

As an added treat he has included a full DVD of never before seen footage of Bam doing what he does best. It is perfect for the ones that love his show most specifically but also can be quite a hoot for those who are just curious about what he does. It runs for an hour and is very in line with what you might have seen on “Jackass” or his own shows “Viva La Bam” and “Bam’s Unholy Union”. There are eighteen clips to enjoy and we find many of the people on the show making an appearance on them. Remember these stunts and events are performed by the truly insane and should not be attempted by anyone who realizes the harm they can do to themselves or who don’t have an EMS technician present. Some of this stuff will really make you feel the pain you see on the screen. Check this CD out for the music first and then take the DVD as something to find freedom from the workaday week constraints.

DVD Clips: Idiot Olympics, Hennessy And Sugar Water, Mustard, Let’s Shred, Late Night Snack, Wipe, Vito, Rake’s Cake, Hob Knob, Calling Work Coach, Pond Scum, Geoff Rowley Nature Boy, Calling, Montage #2, Senor Dico’s Spanish Lesson, Making Of “Blackened Sunrise”, Viking Skull video, Minghags.

Track Listing:
1. Clutch – King Of Arizona
2. In Flames – Abnegation
3. Children Of Bodom – Tie My Rope
4. CKY – Rio Bravo (remix)
5. The Sounds – Ego
6. Shiny Toy Guns – Rocketship
7. Bloodhound Gang – You On The Beach At Night
8. Gwar – War Is All We Know
9. The 69 Eyes – Shadow Of You Love
10. Priestess – Lay Down
11. Dimmu Borgir – The Serpentine Offering
12. Kill Hannah – Believer
13. Viking Skull – Blackened Sunrise
14. Vains Of Jenna – Enemy In Me
15. A Life Once Lost – Firewater Joyride
16. Revolution Mother – Come On
17. Melody Club – Take Me Away
18. The Thieves – Vacant Thoughts
19. Malevolent Creation – Buried In A Nameless Grave
20. Gnarkill – Dico At The Piano Bar

Official Website: www.bamargera.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.