“An Evening Of Yes Music Plus” by Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman & Howe

Artist: Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman & Howe
Title: “An Evening Of Yes Music Plus”
Label: Voiceprint Music
Release Date: 4/16/2007
Genre: Progressive Rock
Rating: 4/5

The reunion of four former members of Yes would be nothing short of historic for fans of the legendary Progressive Rock titans and when Jon Anderson, Rick Wakeman, Steve Howe and Bill Bruford formed Anderson, Bruford, Wakeman & Howe the output generated would be pure magic. The concert presented on this CD was originally a televised pay per view event and back in 1989 this was not as common as we find it being today which makes its existence all the more special. The band couldn’t call themselves Yes based on the bands bassist Chris Squire owning the rights to the name but with the membership in this little enterprise being who it was the world would know the score simply by listening. This was as close to pure Yes as it would come and not only would the guys do some of their classics for the screaming audience but they would also offer up some interpretations on other material and include some new compositions as well. Way back when this first aired I remembered the anticipation I had for the reunion and plunked down the necessary monies to have this brought to life in my parents living room, but having seen the DVD I must say that unless you are an absolute diehard fan that there is no real reason to own the CD.

Sure the music on the release is as vibrant and fresh as what we find on the available DVD and we get the same full show with the exception of the omitted track “The Meeting”, but the truth is that a monumental occasion like this should have found release as a special edition CD/DVD item. My guess is that they aimed at serving the needs of both the video enthusiast as well as the audiophile by giving you the choice of either or both. Highlights include “Roundabout”, “Close To The Edge” and “I’ve Seen All Good People” and it was great to hear these members doing these tunes again as a band when it came down to it. The two CD package is encased in a beautiful foldout digipak and features artwork from longtime Yes collaborator Roger Dean. There is a booklet enclosed that while proving sparse as far as band biography and history does deliver dozens of photographs from the live concert. Grab this one if you are the fan who “must have” it all as it’s still quite good but be aware that the live DVD is something that should be on your shopping list if you don’t already own it. Musically this is top-drawer stuff and a great reminder why Yes music is so special to millions of people around the world.

Track Listing:
1. Benjamin Britten’s Young Person’s Guide To The Orchestra
2. Jon Anderson Solo (Time And A Word, Teakbois, Owner Of A Lonely Heart)
3. Steve Howe Solo (The Clap, Mood For A Day)
4. Rick Wakeman Solo (Gone But Not Forgotten, Catherine Parr, Merlin The Magician)
5. Long Distance Runaround
6. Birthright
7. And You And I
8. I’ve Seen All Good People
9. Close To The Edge
10. Themes (Sound, Second Attention, Soul Warrior)
11. Brother Of Mine
12. Heart Of The Sunrise
13. Order Of The Universe
14. Roundabout
15. Starship Trooper

Official Website: www.yesworld.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.