“All Dolled Up” by The New York Dolls

Artist: New York Dolls
Title: “All Dolled Up”
Label: Music Video Distributors
Release: December 6, 2005
Genre: Glam Rock
Rating: 8/10

As you may or may not know, this DVD was put together by rock photographer Bob Gruen and his wife Nadya, who purchased a video camera and over a three year period recorded over 40 hours of footage, including live performances, backstage and interviews with the band. This allows you an intimate look at such a fascinating band. Videography was so rare at the time, this whole piece is a gem taking a look at the early career of the Dolls. A large portion of the DVD focuses on David Johansen (vocals), Arthur Kane (bass), Jerry Nolan (drums), Sylvain Sylvain (guitar) and Johnny Thunders (guitar) doing what they do best, performing, intermixed with some interview cuts and bonus features.

The documentary is shot in black and white, in a semi-grainy quality and mono audio sound, but it gives it a nostalgic feel, which now it truly is a piece of history. The sound is decent and the shots of the band are great. Bob Gruen really captured the raw rock appeal of the Dolls. Classic songs such as “Personality Crisis”, “Trash” and “Looking For A Kiss” are all captured in all their live glory on this disc. All the performances are what you would expect from the Dolls, loud, crazed and fantastic. This documentary takes you from Kenny’s Castaway in New York to their West Coast tour including clips from the Whisky A Go Go, the Real Don Steele Show, Rodney Bingenheimer’s E Club and more! In between the performances there are clips of the Dolls being interviewed in the grass outside and backstage. It’s touching and done so candidly that get a feel for their personalities up close; it’s a true collector’s item for any fan. This even takes you backstage to watch all the primping performed to get ready for the big show as well as the rehearsals before curtain call. The bonus features on this disc are 12 full song performances, a deluxe full color picture book, interview and commentary from Bob Gruen himself and commentary on certain tracks by David Johansen and Sylvain Sylvain. The interview with Gruen is very interesting and it is done by “Handsome” Dick Manitoba, of the also legendary Punk band “The Dictators”. Packed with everything New York Dolls, this is a must have. Want to see the beginnings of one of the most influential rock bands to ever exist? Pick up this DVD… now… GO!

Track Listing:
1. Human Being
2. Bad Detective
3. Subway Train
4. Personality Crisis
5. Trash
6. Vietnamese Baby
7. Looking For A Kiss
8. Jet Boy
9. Who Are The Mystery Girls?
10. Private World
11. (I’m Your) Hoochie Koochie Man
12. Great Big Kiss
13. Babylon
14. Frankenstein
15. Chatterbox
16. Pirate Love
17. Down Down Downtown
18. Pills
19. Teenage News

Official Website: http://www.newyorkdollsonline.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.