“Against The Rest” by Never Again

Artist: Never Again
Title: “Against the Rest”
Label: 1981 Records
Release Date: May 29, 2007ath Metal
Genre: Death Metal
Rating: 1/5

Dear PiercingMetal Reader-

If you’ve read my reviews for this site you have by now gathered that I am in no way, shape or form a fan of the “Cookie Monster” vocals-ridden death metal genre. This raging dislike comes not from the genre’s ubiquity, but from the fact that albums and bands within the form tend to be virtually indistinguishable, perhaps over-illustrating the old adage of “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.” That assessment may sound glib, but having had to listen to album after album after album of this stuff, I swear to whatever gods there may be that they really do all sound the same and I can only take so much of it without suffering a nervous breakdown of Brobdingnagian proportions. That sameness is a complete and total headache inducing drag, and this album is another example of that. There is simply nothing more that I can say about it without repeating myself yet again, so if you like this stuff, good on you. If not, skip it.

Track Listing:
1. At the Gates
2. Banner
3. Where We Go One…
4. Never Again
5. Walker 1:56 $0.99
6. The Rookie
7. Point Taken
8. Ohio State of Mind
9. Dead Presidents
10. Texas Ranger
11. Ride or Die

Official Website:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.